Tags

, , ,

Conversation with an MB Member

This is an exact quotation of my first conversation with a member of the MB. It was initiated by him in response to a comment I had made to a post by a friend – Maged. The MB gentleman had put as a comment a stock letter that has been circulating on the net over the past couple of days. I recognized it and called it, saying that this is a stock letter by MB specifically aiming at causing depression and disillusion among the people. He took umbrage at what I wrote and left the conversation. Later in the day I found his following comment on my inbox, and the conversation is copied exactly as is. I shall not comment! I leave it up to you to judge.
Note: Because his English is so poor I have taken the liberty of putting in his meaning between brackets below what he actually says.

U ARE THE WORST HUMAN I SEE WHILE I LIVE AT KUWAIT, DUBAI, LEBANON LONDON, ANYWHERE
(You are the worts human being I have seen, living in Kuwait, Dubai, Lebanon, London or anywhere)

Now that you got that off your chest, would you like to tell me why?

YOU WILL PAY FOR UR COMMENT AS U ERE IGNORANT IF U ARE STRONG ENOUGH FACE ME DEFEND YOUR IDEA BUT AS U R ARE MAGED FRIEND I SHALL FORGIVE U BUT U ARE NOTHING FACE ME
(You will pay for your comment as you are ignorant. If you are strong enough, face me and defend your idea, but as you are Maged’s friend I shall forgive you, but you are nothing. Face me)

I am facing you now, I have invited you to tell me what is on your mind. Please do

BELIEVE ME AS WE HAVE MB WE HAVE U
(Here I think he meant to imply a derogatory slur on my character as compared to the MB)

Ok that is your opinion but you still have not told me why you think so, please explain

BOTH OF U I CAN CRUSHED EVEN WHERE U ARE
(I can crush you both wherever you are – I think he meant Maged and I)

Why?

U ARE NOT POLIT

And because you think I am rude you threaten me with bodily harm? Don’t you think that is a bit extreme?

Would you like to add something else? Please note that the remark which you had posted was previously posted all over the net in an attempt at generating defeatism and depression among Egyptians. It was traced to an MB member. If you copied it not knowing its source, then I understand your feeling offended, but it is really very dangerous these days to quote things without knowing the source.

U HEATEAN ME AS MB I AM NOT AFRAID JUST TREAT U AS A FRIEND OF MAMGED WHO I RESPECT HIM BE CAREFUL ABOUT UR TALK , EVEN I DO NOT LIKE TO HERE UR TALK
(You threaten – I think he meant accuse – me of being a member of the MB, this does not scare me. I shall just treat you as Maged’s friend whom I respect. Be careful how you talk to me as I do not like to hear what you say)

GO TO HILL (hell)

I just explained above, and believe me, if anyone accused me of being MB I too would be angry. But there was reason for that.

I DO NOT LIKE EVEN UR COMMENT

TREAT ME AS mb

You have every right to dislike anything written, but you did use one of the MB letters in your comment. Not knowing you, what was I supposed to think?

BYE GO TO HIL U ARE IGNORANT
(Bye, go to hell, you are ignorant)

I am sorry you think so, but I have given you every opportunity to tell me your reasons for thinking so and all you can think to say is wish me to hell. This is not a rational way to carry out a conversation. Maybe when you are feeling less angry we can resume our conversation at a more rational level. Good night.

U WILL GO TO HEAVEN & I SHALL GO TO HILL .WHAT DO U WANT? JUST I KNOW ARE DO NOT A HUMAN OR WOMAN LIKE U ?
(You will go to heaven and I will go to hell. What do you want? I know there is neither a human being nor a woman like you – he probably means a slur on my humanity and womanhood)

No, nobody is going anywhere. We all love our country and what is best for it. If we keep fighting one another we will never be able to help Egypt.

mB WHATB DO U WANT AREBU A WOMEN
( I am MB what do you want you sneaky woman)

Just that we do not fight each other, we need all our energy to fight for Egypt

EVEN U R NOT LIABLE TO DO NOT EXAGGERATE UR SELFE I A AM SORRY TO REPLY TO A PERSON LIKE U
(Even someone like you cannot exaggerate – I think he meant inflate – your self – worth – I am sorry to respond to someone like you)

Well, you started the conversation. It is up to you. Good luck

I AM OLDER THAN U

Then how old is that?

Why don’t you want to tell me your age. It is nothing to be ashamed of, never too young or too old

Ok if you are not going to reply I will have to go. Bye

NO NO ASK MAGED UR FRIEND NEVER EVER TALK TO ME ME UNLESS I HEART U WHEREVER U ARE BCZ انت ى متربتيش
(No, no ask Maged your friend. Never talk to me otherwise I shall hurt you wherever you are because you are not properly brought up) – this is a much more derogatory term in Arabic than the translation conveys

YALA BAYE YA HELWAh ( come on, bye pretty one – again derogatory and dismissive)

In the above conversation he has typified all the traits governing their process of thought. The attitude is condescending, the style is derogatory and the reasoning is nonexistent. He blusters and uses threats of physical violence but has no information to give whatsoever about his stand. He quoted a circular letter distributed by the MB, but he neither understands to explain, nor has the ability to defend its stance. A common description of the MB members is that they learn by rote without comprehension. He just personified that.

Needless to say I have blocked him and hope that Maged would do the same. It is really unfortunate that he was unable, to have a rational discussion of our differences. With him as an example of the MB members, then any kind of reconciliation seems to be quite literally impossible.

